A lunchtime post

Standard

Well, I officially lost my Bopa and Paul. I was biking along, thinking that they were right behind me. I saw a turtle so I turned around to tell Paul and when I looked, they weren’t there. I waited, and waited, and waited. But they didn’t show up. I decided that I must have left them very far behind and that it was smarter just to continue to lunch.
Now I’m waiting for them to come while eating pretzels in the shade do I started posting.
Of course, as I say that they ride in. Well, they still have to have lunch so I’ll finish this post.
Let’s see. What have we done today?

Marines attack the Fire Engine House to capture abolitionist John Brown (Harpers Ferry National Historical Park/National Park Service)

First, we took a small detour across the river to visit Harpers Ferry. It’s famous for John Brown’s raid right before the civil war. We visited the museum and were even able to snag a quick geocache.
Then we met up with my old biking friend, Connor. We actually met on this trip the last time they went from D.C. to Pittsburg! After he and his father (who actually organizes this trip) left to make a detour to Antietam, I started riding and then lost my group and here we are.
Now we only have 15 miles left until camp though a lot of people seem to wish that this was the campsite. Tonight there is a lecture on Ft. Fredrick and about five geocaches so I should be busy!

Greetings, again, from the non-traveling editor.  There’s been a call for some additional information about this locale, which is provided below:

The Civil War had a profound and disastrous effect on Harpers Ferry, leaving a path of destruction that wrecked the town’s economy and forced many residents to depart forever. Because of the town’s strategic location on the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad at the northern end of the Shenandoah Valley, Union and Confederate troops moved through Harpers Ferry frequently. The town changed hands eight times between 1861 and 1865.  — from Harpers Ferry National Historical Park website, click link to read full text

If you’re wanting to learn more about John Brown and the raid on Harper’s Ferry, click here to visit the website of the Civil War sesquicentennial.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

